Academy Curriculum

Key Stage 3

Year 7 and 8 pupils follow the Key Stage 3 National Curriculum. The subjects taught are:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Physical Education
  • Art
  • Music
  • Modern Foreign Language
  • Geography
  • History
  • Religious Studies
  • Personal/ Social/ Citizenship/ Health Education (PACE)
  • ICT
  • Resistant Materials/ Food Technology/ Textiles

Key Stage 4

At the end of Year 8 pupils start Key Stage 4 courses following a core curriculum.

An overview of the courses we offer at Key Stage 4 can be found in our Key Stage 4 Curriculum Guide.

For full course information about the subjects we offer, such as the exam boards or the specific specification for each course, please see our Key Stage 4 Course Information Guide.

Key Stage 4 Core Curriculum

Subject Qualification
English Language & Literature GCSE
Mathematics GCSE
Science (Combined) GCSE
Physical Education (Core) GCSE

Pupils then choose ONE subject from the following list:

Subject Qualification
History GCSE
Geography GCSE

Pupils then choose TWO to make up the rest of their Key Stage 4 timetable.

Subject Qualification
Computer Science GCSE
Dance GCSE
Drama GCSE
Design & Technology GCSE
Further Science GCSE
Geography GCSE
History GCSE
Music GCSE
Physical Education GCSE
Religious Studies GCSE
Spanish GCSE

The learning of all pupils is complemented by a range of extra-curricular clubs, trips, visits and guest speakers that help enhance and develop the curriculum. This encourages the development of a wide range of valuable skills that mean our pupils are ready for life after Year 11.